“When Is Eternal Life? … Wondering how things will be for me after I die seems, for the most part, a distraction. When my clear goal is the eternal life, that life must be reachable right now, where I am, because eternal life is life in and with God, and God is where I am here and now. The great mystery of the spiritual life – the life in God – is that we don’t have to wait for it as something that will happen later. Jesus says: “Dwell in me as I dwell in you.” It is this divine in-dwelling that is eternal life. It is the active presence of God at the center of my living – the movement of God’s Spirit within us – that gives us the eternal life. ”  Henri J.M. Nouwen, Here and Now: Living in the Spirit. Crossroad Publishing 1994.

Lent is a time when thoughts may turn to questions of life after death. What is it we actually hope for?  Can we be with God after we die if we aren’t living in God now? And how do we do that? How do we allow God into the center of our lives?

One thought I have is that we cannot separate being with God from our being with or simply being anything else at all. God has to become the lens through which we see everything and everyone, through which we process and evaluate and decide all things.

